Field Trip Planner

Great field trips start here! Look through our planner for field trips at a variety of destinations – museums, farms, historical sites, nature centers and more.

Fernbank Museum of Natural History

Adventure

Atlanta Motor Speedway. Hampton. 770-946-4211, atlantamotorspeedway.com
Malibu Grand Prix. Norcross. 770-416-7630, malibugrandprix.com/site/norcross
Buccaneer Cove water play area, batting cages, Go-Karts, state-of-the-art game room, golf and more will make your field trip fun for everyone!
Monster Mini Golf. Marietta. 770-423-2212, monsterminigolf.com
Monster Mini Golf is 18 holes of indoor, monster themed, Glow-in-the-Dark Mini Golf.  Experience cool special effects, great music, arcade, redemption tickets and two private party rooms. 2505 Chastain Meadow Parkway.
Mountasia Family Fun Center. Marietta. 770-422-7227, mountasia.com/site/marietta
Go-Karts, state-of-the-art game room, golf and more will make your field trip fun for everyone!
Six Flags Theme Park. Austell. 770-948-9290, sixflags.com
Stone Mountain Park. Stone Mountain. 770-498-5690, stonemountainpark.com
Treetop Quest. Buford. 770-904-3547, treetopquest.com
Treetop Obstacle Course & Zip-lining – Outdoor Family Adventure with 70 obstacles, 20 zip-lines, 6 levels! Courses for everyone, starting at 4 years old! In Buford, near the Mall of Georgia. 

Animals and Farms

The Art Barn At Morning Glory Farm. Canton. 678-319-0286, theartbarn.com
Cagle’s Dairy Farm. Canton. 770-345-5591, caglesfamilyfarm.com
Georgia Aquarium. Atlanta. 404-581-4121, georgiaaquarium.org
Visit the world’s largest aquarium with more than 100,000 animals from 500 species. 225 Baker Street NW Atlanta, GA 30313
Pettit Creek Farms. Cartersville. 770-386-8688, pettitcreekfarms.com
The Pumpkin Patch at Yule Forest. Stockbridge. 770-954-9356, aboutyule.com
Farm Fun Opens Oct. 1. School Tours, Hayrides, Petting Zoo, Fun Zone, Puppet Shows, Science Center, Bee House. On Hwy 155. 
Tanglewood Farm. Canton. 770-667-6464, tanglewoodfarmminiatures.com
Uncle Shuck’s Corn Maze and Pumpkin Patch. Dawsonville. 770-772-6223, uncleshucks.com
Have family fun getting lost! Uncle Shuck’s Corn Maze & Pumpkin Patch in Dawsonville offers hayrides, maze trails, bonfires, fresh food. Open weekends Sept, Nov, and every day in October. 520 Hwy 53 East.
Yellow River Game Ranch. Lilburn. 770-972-6643, yellowrivergameranch.com
Zoo Atlanta. Atlanta. 404-624-9453, zooatlanta.org
Roam the globe with over 800 animals from around the world. Don’t miss the Zoo train, carousel and new splash pad. Keeper talks, interactive shows, special events, camps and education programs run year-round.

Historic Sites and Houses

Bulloch Hall. Roswell. 770-992-1731, bullochhall.org
Governor’s Mansion. Atlanta. 404-656-1776, mansion.georgia.gov
The Herndon Home. Atlanta. 404-581-9813, theherndonhome.org
Historic Mable House. Mableton. 770-819-3285, mablehouse.org
Martin Luther King Jr. National Historical Site. Atlanta. 404-331-5190 or 404-331-6922 (visitor recorded message), nps.gov/malu
Oakland Cemetery. Atlanta. 404-688-2107, oaklandcemetery.com
Root House Museum. Marietta. 770-426-4982, cobblandmarks.com/root-house
Smith Plantation. Roswell. 770-641-3978, archibaldsmithplantation.org
The Wren’s Nest. Atlanta. 404-753-7735, wrensnest.org

 

Museum of Design

Museums

Atlanta Cyclorama and Civil War Museum. Atlanta. 404-658-7625 or 404-624-1071, atlantacyclorama.org
Atlanta History Center. Atlanta. 404-814-4000, atlhist.org
On 33 acres in historic Buckhead, the history center houses the Atlanta History Museum, Centennial Olympic Games Museum, Swan House, Smith Family Farm, six historic gardens, and the Kenan Research Center.
Atlanta Preservation Center. Atlanta. 404-688-3353, preserveatlanta.com
Atlanta Titanic Exhibition. Atlanta. 404-496-4274, titanicatlanta.com
The galleries in this fascinating Exhibition feature real artifacts recovered from the ocean floor along with room re-creations and personal stories; each highlighting a different chapter in the compelling story of Titanic’s maiden voyage. To Book, Please Email sales@ticketsforgroups.com or call 1-888-507-6909. Atlantic Station Level 2 Escalator 5.  265 18th Street.
APEX Museum. Atlanta. 404-523-2739, apexmuseum.org. Bartow History Center. Cartersville. 770-382-3818, bartowhistorycenter.org
Bodies The Exhibition. Atlanta. 404-496-4274, BodiesAtlanta.com
The Exhibition will enlighten, empower and inspire. This striking Exhibition showcases real human bodies, dissected and preserved through a revolutionary process allowing visitors to see themselves in a fascinating way like never before. To Book, Please Email sales@ticketsforgroups.com or call 1-888-507-6909. Atlantic Station Level 2 Escalator 5.  265 18th Street.
Booth Western Art Museum. Cartersville. 770-387-1300, boothmuseum.org
Braves Museum & Hall of Fame/Turner Field Tours. Atlanta. 404-614-2311, braves.com or braves.mlb.com/atl/ballpark/tours/
The museum offers specialized tours tailored to elementary, middle and high school students.  Tours take visitors to many areas off limits during games, including the press box, broadcast booth, clubhouse and dugout. 755 Hank Aaron Drive.
The Children’s Museum of Atlanta. 404-659-5437, childrensmuseumatlanta.org
Play and learn about art, science, creative problem-solving, reading, nutrition and culture.
Fernbank Museum of Natural History. Atlanta. 404-929-6300, fernbankmuseum.org
See dinosaurs, children’s discovery rooms and Georgia history. Enjoy monthly activities and see IMAX films.
Fernbank Science Center. Atlanta. 678-874-7102, fernbank.edu
Funk Heritage Center. Waleska. 770-720-5970, reinhardt.edu/funkheritage
High Museum of Art. Atlanta. 404-733-4444, high.org
Georgia Capitol Museum. Atlanta. 404-656-2846, libs.uga.edu/capitolmuseum
Hudgens Center for the Arts and Children’s Art Museum. Duluth. 770-623-6002, thehudgens.org
Interactive Neighborhood for Kids, Inc. Gainesville. 770-536-1900, inkfun.org
Jimmy Carter Library and Museum. Atlanta. 404-865-7100, jimmycarterlibrary.gov
LEGOLAND. Atlanta. 404-848-9252, legolanddiscoverycenter.com
Jump inside the world’s biggest box of LEGO® bricks ever!  Special pricing for Title 1 schools. Complimentary educational workshops! Book now. LEGOLAND Discovery Center Atlanta at Phipps Plaza in Buckhead 3500 Peachtree Rd., Suite G-1.
Margaret Mitchell House. Atlanta. 404-249-7015, margaretmitchellhouse.com
Michael C. Carlos Museum. Atlanta. 404-727-4282, carlos.emory.edu
Museum of Design. Atlanta. 404-979-6455, museumofdesign.org
Robert C. Williams Museum of Papermaking. Atlanta. 404-894-5726, ipst.gatech.edu/amp
Explore the global history and science of papermaking  at the paper museum. Perfect for families. Tours and workshops available for groups of 10 or more. Open Mon-Fri. Free parking. 500 10th St. NW (The Institute of Paper Science and Technology at Georgia Tech) .
Southeastern Railway Museum. Duluth. 770-476-2013, srmduluth.org
Southern Museum of Civil War & Locomotive History. Kennesaw. 770-427-2117, southernmuseum.org
Stately Oaks Plantation. Jonesboro. 770-473-0197, historicaljonesboro.org
Teaching Museum North. Roswell. 770-552-6339. And Teaching Museum South. Hapeville. 404-669-8015, teachingmuseumnorth.org
Telephone Museum. Atlanta. 404-223-3661, attpioneervolunteers.org
Tellus Science Museum. Cartersville. 770-606-5700, tellusmuseum.org
William Breman Jewish Heritage Museum. Atlanta. 678-222-3700, thebreman.org
World of Coca-Cola. Atlanta. 404-676-5151, worldofcoca-cola.com
Educate and inspire your class with a visit to World of Coca-Cola!  Our Teacher Toolkit gives you the tools to ensure field trips are educational as well as entertaining. 121 Baker St. NW.

Southeastern Railway Museum

Nature and Science

Atlanta Botanical Garden. Atlanta. 404-876-5859, atlantabotanicalgarden.org
Autrey Mill Nature Preserve. Johns Creek. 678-366-3511, autreymill.org
Big Trees Urban Forest Preserve. Atlanta. bigtreesforest.com. Chattahoochee Nature Center. Roswell. 770-992-2055, chattnaturecenter.org
Chattahoochee River National Recreation Area. Atlanta. 678-538-1200, nps.gov/chat
Davidson-Arabia Mountain Nature Preserve. Lithonia. 770-484-3060, arabiaalliance.org
Dunwoody Nature Center. Dunwoody. 770-394-3322, dunwoodynature.org
Elachee Nature Science Center. Gainesville. 770-535-1976, elachee.org
Gwinnett Environmental and Heritage Center. Buford. 770-904-3500, gwinnettehc.org
Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park. Kennesaw. 770-427-4686, nps.gov/kemo
McDaniel Farm Park. Duluth. 770-814-4920, gwinnettcounty.com
Panola Mountain State Park. Stockbridge. 770-389-7801, gastateparks.org/panolamountain
Reynolds Nature Preserve. Morrow. 770-603-4188, reynoldsnaturepreserve.org
Truly Living Well Center for Natural Urban Agriculture. Atlanta. 678-662-9225, trulylivingwell.com
Field trips are a year-round adventure at our Wheat Street Gardens! Youths explore the farm to learn how food grows and how they can be good Earth stewards. 73 Hilliard St. NE.

Performing Arts

Alliance Theatre. Atlanta. 404-733-5000, alliancetheatre.org
Center for Puppetry Arts. Atlanta. 404-873-3391, puppet.org
Since 1978, the center has introduced visitors to the art of puppetry with performances, workshops and puppetry museum.
Medieval Times. Lawrenceville. 770-225-0230, medievaltimes.com

Beyond Atlanta

Foxfire Museum and Heritage Center. Mountain City. 706-746-5828, foxfire.org
A 22-log-cabin village that showcases early Appalachian life with exhibits and artifacts and a gift shop full of handmade pottery, crafts and books. Guided and self-guided tours available. Mon.-Sat. 8:30-4:30.98 Foxfire Lane, Mountain City, GA 30562. 
Great Smoky Mountain Railroad. Bryson City, N.C. 828-586-8811, gsmr.com
Hop aboard for a fun family ride all year long. In October, enjoy rides themed to the Peanuts gang, the cartoon characters created by Charles M. Schulz. Just in time for the holidays, ride the Polar Express™ for a quick trip to the North Pole.
North Georgia Zoo and Petting Farm. Cleveland. 706-348-7279, northgeorgiazoo.com
The Rock Ranch. The Rock. 706-647-6374, therockranch.com
A 1500-acre ranch owned by Chick-fil-A founder S. Truett Cathy and dedicated to Growing Healthy Families. American history, farm, nature and corn maze themed guided field trips. Educational Family Fun. 5020 Barnesville Hwy. The Rock. www.facebook.com/therockranch.
Tennessee Valley Railroad Museum. Chattanooga, Tenn. 423-894-8028, tvrail.com
Sit back, relax and let our trains take you away for an hour or a day. Perfect for families. Check the website for all ride offerings and dates. Group rates are available for groups of 20 or more in season, 50 or more off season. 4119 Cromwell Road. Chattanooga, TN 37421. c