Field Trip Planner

Great field trips start here! Look through our planner for field trips at a variety of destinations – museums, farms, historical sites, nature centers and more.

Children's Museum of Atlanta

Adventure

Andretti Indoor Karting & Games. Marietta, 678-496-9530; Roswell; 770-992-5688; andrettikarting.com
Want to take the tour up a notch? No matter the size of your group, Andretti’s can provide an amazing stop on that next outing with its unique blend of speed, thrills, interactive gaming and great eats. Around here, we don’t do “vanilla.”
Atlanta Motor Speedway. Hampton. 770-707-7970, atlantamotorspeedway.com
Funopolis. Commerce. 706-335-3866, Funopolisfamilyfuncenter.com
Explore the five acres of indoor & outdoor attractions. Three hour field trips for schools, camps,churches and group events. Corporate packages also available.
Malibu Grand Prix. Norcross. 770-416-7630, malibunorcross.com
Monster Mini Golf. Marietta. 770-423-2212, monsterminigolf.com
Mountasia Family Fun Center. Marietta. 770-422-7227, mountasiamarietta.com
Six Flags Theme Park. Austell. 770-948-9290, sixflags.com/overgeorgia
SkyView Atlanta. Atlanta. 678-949-9023, SkyViewAtlanta.com
Slingshot Entertainment. Duluth. 678-585-2268, slingshotplay.com
Roll, Race, Play during your next field trip at Slingshot Entertainment. Choose from Interactive Bowling, Indoor Go Kart Racing, 3-Story Netted Play Structure or the largest indoor ninja obstacle course in the U.S.
Stars and Strikes. 8 Locations. 678-965-5707, starsandstrikes.com
Book your next group outing or field trip at Stars and Strikes. Enjoy bowling and video games along with a private room. Lots of other options to customize your experience based upon which Stars and Strikes you choose – including Laser Tag, Laser Maze, Bumper Cars and more.  
Stone Mountain Park. Stone Mountain. 800-401-2407, stonemountainpark.com
Tiny Towne – Drive Safely. Norcross. 470-545-7227, tinytowne.com
2-5 Hour Programs for Preschool-High School students and groups. Aspiring drivers will learn, discuss and practice traffic rules, road signs and safety and then put their knowledge to the test in a simulator or high tech car.
Treetop Quest. Buford, 404-277-6113; Dunwoody, 770-365-0356; treetopquest.com
Incorporate nature into your classroom with a trip to Treetop Quest. Kids will have an unforgettable experience as they build confidence moving through our treetop obstacles and gain knowledge about nature and the environment with educational boards located throughout the park.

Animals and Farms

The Art Barn at Morning Glory Farm. Canton. 678-319-0286, theartbarn.com
Big Springs. Woodstock. 678-899-3900, bigspringsfarms.com
Small groups to large groups welcome. Offering a corn maze, hayride, farm animals, make and taste homemade butter, story time, crafting and games. Each child takes home a pumpkin.
Buford Corn Maze. Buford. 678-835-7198, bufordcornmaze.com
Open September 3 to November 13. School field trips include corn maze, jumping pillow, hayride and corn box. Available for parties, youth groups,  scouts and more.
Georgia Aquarium. Atlanta. 404-581-4000, georgiaaquarium.org
Hillcrest Orchards. Ellijay. 706-273-3838, hillcrestorchards.net
Fieldtrips weekdays in Sept., Oct. and Nov. Guests can milk a cow, ride the wagon through the orchard, visit the apple museum and the petting farm. Teachers will receive activity sheets, and a list of state standards met on the trip.
Jaemor Farms. Alto, 770-869-3999; Commerce, 706-335-0999, jaemorfarms.com
Mitcham Farms. Oxford. 770-855-1530, mitchamfarm.com
Pettit Creek Farms. Cartersville. 770-386-8688, pettitcreekfarms.com
See buffalo, cattle, horses and ponies as well as many exotic animals. Climb on the hayride or jump on the inflatable bounces. Go cane pole fishing and visit the petting zoo. Enjoy your lunch under the huge oak trees.
The Pumpkin Patch at Yule Forest. Stockbridge. 770-954-9356, aboutyule.com
Opens Oct. 1. School tours, Hayrides, Petting Zoo, Fun zone, Puppet shows, Science Center, Honey Bee House and more. Christmas Tree Tours available in December.
Tanglewood Farm. Canton. 770-667-6464, tanglewoodfarmminiatures.com
Uncle Shuck’s Corn Maze and Pumpkin Patch. Dawsonville. 770-772-6223, uncleshucks.com
Yellow River Game Ranch. Lilburn. 770-972-6643, yellowrivergameranch.com
Zoo Atlanta. Atlanta. 404-624-9453, zooatlanta.org
Roam the globe with over 1400 animals from around the world. Don’t miss the Zoo train, carousel and new splash pad. Keeper talks, interactive shows, special events, camps and education programs run year-round.

Historic Sites and Houses

Bulloch Hall. Roswell. 770-992-1731, bullochhall.org
Governor’s Mansion. Atlanta. 404-261-1776, mansion.georgia.gov
The Herndon Home. Atlanta. 404-581-9813, herndonhome.org
Historic Mable House. Mableton. 770-819-3285, mablehouse.org
Martin Luther King Jr. National Historical Site. Atlanta. 404-331-5190, nps.gov/malu
Oakland Cemetery. Atlanta. 404-688-2107, oaklandcemetery.com
Root House Museum. Marietta. 770-426-4982, roothousemuseum.com
Smith Plantation. Roswell. 770-641-3978, archibaldsmithplantation.org
The Wren’s Nest. Atlanta. 404-753-7735, wrensnest.org

Museums

Atlanta History Center. Atlanta. 404-814-4000, atlantahistorycenter.com
On 33 acres in historic Buckhead, the history center houses the Atlanta History Museum, Swan House, Smith Family Farm and six historic gardens..
Atlanta Preservation Center. Atlanta. 404-688-3353, preserveatlanta.com
APEX Museum. Atlanta. 404-523-2739, apexmuseum.org
Bartow History Museum. Cartersville. 770-382-3818, bartowhistorymuseum.org
Biblical History Center. LaGrange. 706-885-0363, biblicalhistorycenter.com
Bodies The Exhibition. Atlanta. 404-496-4274, premiereexhibitions.com
Booth Western Art Museum. Cartersville. 770-387-1300, boothmuseum.org
Braves Museum & Hall of Fame / Turner Field Tours. Atlanta. 404-614-2310, braves.com
Center for Civil and Human Rights. Atlanta. 678-999-8990, civilandhumanrights.org
The Children’s Museum of Atlanta. Atlanta. 404-527-3693, childrensmuseumatlanta.org
Play and learn about art, science, creative problem-solving, reading, nutrition and culture.
College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience. Atlanta. 404-880-4841, cfbhall.com
Get in the game and learn something too! More than 40 state-of-the-art interactive experiences and exhibits. Technology Engineering, Arts, Mathematics and Science-based programs.
Delta Flight Museum. Atlanta. 404-715-7886, deltamuseum.org
Fernbank Museum of Natural History.  404-929-6306, fernbankmuseum.org
See dinosaurs, children’s discovery rooms, Georgia history and IMAX films, with educator-led programs available.
Fernbank Science Center. 678-874-7102 fernbank.edu
Funk Heritage Center. Waleska. 770-720-5970, reinhardt.edu/funkheritage
Georgia’s Official Frontier and Southeastern Indian Interpretive Center. Guided field trips available for school groups of 15 or more include Southeastern Indian film, dioramas, art gallery and historic tools. Visit an Appalachian Settlement weather permitting. School tours Tues.-Fri., reservations required. Reinhardt University campus, Waleska, GA.
Georgia Capitol Museum. Atlanta. 404-463-4536, libs.uga.edu/capitolmuseum
High Museum of Art. Atlanta. 404-733-4400, high.org
Hudgens Center for the Arts and Children’s Art Museum. Duluth. 770-623-6002, thehudgens.org
Interactive Neighborhood for Kids. Gainesville. 770-536-1900, inkfun.org
All exhibits are designed to provide a unique hands-on learning environment, to actively engage young minds while having lots of fun. Everyone is a kid at INK as adults are encouraged to join in the fun for intergenerational learning.
Jimmy Carter Library and Museum. Atlanta. 404-865-7100, jimmycarterlibrary.gov
LEGOLAND. Atlanta. 404-848-9252, legolanddiscoverycenter.com/atlanta
Margaret Mitchell House. Atlanta. 404-249-7015, atlantahistorycenter.com/mmh
Michael C. Carlos Museum. Atlanta. 404-727-4282, carlos.emory.edu
Museum of Design. Atlanta. 404-979-6455, museumofdesign.org
Robert C. Williams Museum of Papermaking. Atlanta. 404-894-5726, ipst.gatech.edu/amp
Southeastern Railway Museum. Duluth. 770-495-0253 ext. 2,   train-musuem.org
The largest transportation museum in the Southeast. Offering field trips for school groups K-5, seniors and adults. 33 acres, house buses, tractors, cars, fire engines, taxis and more than 90 trains. The original Duluth depot, built in 1871 is also located on the property.
Southern Museum of Civil War & Locomotive History. Kennesaw. 770-427-2117, southernmuseum.org
Stately Oaks Plantation. Jonesboro. 770-473-0197, historicaljonesboro.org
Teaching Museum North. Roswell. 470-254-6339 and
Teaching Museum South. Hapeville. 470-254-8015, fultonschools.org
Telephone Museum. Atlanta. 404-223-3661
Tellus Science Museum. Cartersville. 770-606- 5700, tellusmuseum.org
William Breman Jewish Heritage Museum. Atlanta. 404-870-1632, thebreman.org
World of Coca-Cola. Atlanta. 404-676-5151, worldofcoca-cola.com

Chattahoochee Nature Center

Nature and Science

Atlanta Botanical Garden. Atlanta. 404-876-5859, atlantabg.org
Atlanta Botanical Garden. Gainesville. 404-888-4760, atlantabg.org/visit/gainesville
Autrey Mill Nature Preserve. Johns Creek. 678-366-3511, autreymill.org
Big Trees Urban Forest Preserve. Atlanta. bigtreesforest.com
Chattahoochee Nature Center. Roswell. 770-992-2055, chattnaturecenter.org/education
Come explore the Chattahoochee Nature Center with your class for fun, educational experiences your students won’t ever forget! Onsite programming and outreaches year-round that are correlated to the state’s GPS.
Chattahoochee River National Recreation Area. Sandy Springs. 678-538-1200, nps.gov/chat
Davidson-Arabia Mountain Nature Preserve. Lithonia. 770-492-5220, arabiaalliance.org
Dunwoody Nature Center. Dunwoody. 770-394-3322, dunwoodynature.org
Elachee Nature Science Center. Gainesville. 770-535-1976, elachee.org
Gwinnett Environmental and Heritage Center. Buford. 770-904-3500, gwinnettehc.org
Johns Creek Environmental Campus. Roswell. 404-613-3012, fultoncountyga.gov/home-jcec
Learn all about the ‘Water Treatment Cycle’, tour a state-of-the-art treatment facility and participate in a fun lab experiment.
Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park. Kennesaw. 770-427-4686, nps.gov/kemo
McDaniel Farm Park. Duluth. 770-822-8840, gwinnettcounty.com
Mayfield Dairy. Braselton. 706-654-9180. Mayfielddairy.com
See how your favorite Mayfield products are made with a fun and educational behind-the-scenes tour. Visit us in Braselton, Georgia to learn how our delicious milk makes it from our dairy to your fridge. It’s fun for the family or a perfect field trip for schools, church groups or any organization.
Panola Mountain State Park. Stockbridge. 800-864-7275, gastateparks.org/panolamountain
Reynolds Nature Preserve. Morrow. 770-603- 4188, reynoldsnaturepreserve.org
Truly Living Well Center for Natural Urban Agriculture. Atlanta. 678-973-0997, trulylivingwell.com
Science Creations. 678-531-2357, sciencecreations.com
In-school science field trips. Fun, hands-on, educational workshops and shows for pre-k through fourth grade. Take home projects included.

Performing Arts

Alliance Theatre. Atlanta. 404-733-4650, alliancetheatre.org
Center for Puppetry Arts. Atlanta. 404-873-3089, puppet.org
Live puppetry shows throughout the year, plus Worlds of Puppetry Museum, puppetry workshops and more.
Medieval Times. Lawrenceville. 866-543-5278, medievaltimes.com/atlanta

Beyond Atlanta

Foxfire Museum and Heritage Center. Mountain City. 706-746-5828, foxfire.org
Great Smoky Mountain Railroad. Bryson City, N.C. 828-586-8811, gsmr.com
Hop aboard for a fun family ride all year long. In October, enjoy rides themed to the Peanuts gang, the cartoon characters created by Charles M. Schulz. Just in time for the holidays, ride the Polar Express™ for a quick trip to the North Pole.
Mercier Orchards. Blue Ridge. 706-632-3411, mercier-orchards.com
Get outdoors and spend your next field trip on the farm! Mercier offers a guided tour of Georgia’s largest apple orchard. Learn about growing different fruit and all the healthy benefits.
The Rock Ranch. The Rock. 706-647-6374, therockranch.com
Tennessee Valley Railroad Museum. Chattanooga, Tenn. 423-894-8028, tvrail.com
Sit back, relax and let our trains take you away for an hour or a day. Perfect for families. Check the website for all ride offerings and dates. Group rates are available for groups of 20 or more in season, 50 or more off season. 4119 Cromwell Rd. Chattanooga, TN 37421.